May 28, 2024

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

Following consultation with our Academic Senate, Executive Vice Chancellor, academic deans, and staff and administrative colleagues, I am pleased to announce the formation of the Chancellor’s Task Force on Campus Staffing.

This newly formed task force will study concerns that have been brought forward by our staff and faculty regarding campus staffing issues. It will review basic staffing and compensation data to gain a campus-wide perspective on campus staffing levels and compensation in the context of job classifications and responsibilities, professional development, represented or non-represented employee status, and fund sources, as well as other relevant campus and UC data. The task force will review and make recommendations for short- and long-term actions and strategies that will help us support our staff and address staffing needs now and in the future.

The task force membership is listed below. We extend our sincere thanks to Professor of Economics Kelly Bedard and Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Human Resources Officer Ann-Marie Musto for agreeing to co-chair this important task force. We also thank all of the task force members for their commitment of time and expertise to help our campus with this critical effort.


Henry T. Yang


Chancellor’s Task Force on Campus Staffing

Kelly Bedard, Co-chair; Professor, Economics
Ann-Marie Musto, Co-chair; Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Human Resources Officer
Ashley Andersen, Director, Audit & Advisory Services, Finance & Resource Management
Ingrid Banks, Associate Professor, Black Studies
Risa Brainin, Chair and Professor Theater and Dance
Alison Butler, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Emma Cristofani, Co-chair, Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Council; Assistant Director, Campus Learning Assistance Services
Ben Halpern, Director, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS); Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
John W.I. Lee, Professor, History; Chair, Academic Senate Council on Faculty Welfare, Academic Freedom, and Awards
Kaitlyn Legros, Co-chair, Staff Assembly; Financial Manager, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Don Marolf, Professor, Physics
Tresa Pollock, ALCOA Distinguished Professor, Materials
Lisa Romero, Director of Employee Services, Human Resources
Dorothy Satomi, Director of Finance and Administration, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
Tim Sherwood, Interim Dean, College of Creative Studies; Professor, Computer Science
Mian Wang, Chair and Professor, Department of Education, The Gevirtz School