May 9, 2024

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

In my campus memo of February 13, 2024, I announced that University Librarian Kristin Antelman has decided to retire at the end of this academic year. I would like to take this opportunity once again to thank Kristin for her exemplary leadership of our Libraries and her many extraordinary contributions to our campus community.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate, administrative and staff colleagues, and our graduate and undergraduate students, Executive Vice Chancellor David Marshall and I are pleased to announce the formation of the search advisory committee for our next University Librarian. The committee membership is listed below. We extend our sincere appreciation to Professor Beth Digeser for graciously agreeing to serve as chair of this committee. We also thank all of the committee members for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to this important search.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for University Librarian
Beth Digeser
, Chair; Professor, History
Forrest Brewer, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Josh Bright, Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Inés Casillas, Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Jim Donelan, Continuing Lecturer, College of Creative Studies, English, and Writing Program
Waverly Duck, Professor, Sociology
Jennifer King, Professor, Geography
Mary Michael, Graduate Student Association representative
Jeffrey Milem, Jules Zimmer Dean, Gevirtz School of Education
Andrew Plantinga, Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Marisol Ramos, Librarian and Selector for Latin American & Iberian Studies and Ethnic & Gender Studies Collections
Maria Segall, Associated Students representative
Heather Silva, Staff representative; Senior Director of Development, University Library
Ambuj Singh, Distinguished Professor, Computer Science
Sven Spieker, Professor, Germanic & Slavic Studies; Chair, Academic Senate Council on Research and Instructional Resources
David Stuart, Chair and Professor, Physics
Lidia Uziel, Associate University Librarian for Research Resources & Scholarly Communication