January 17, 2024

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

As we announced in a memo of August 4, 2023, we will restart a search for our next Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean. Interim Dean Leila Rupp has graciously agreed to continue serving as Interim Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean while we conduct our search.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate Chair, Executive Vice Chancellor and faculty and administrative colleagues, Graduate Student Association, and Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Council and Staff Assembly, I am pleased to announce that the search advisory committee for our next Dean of our Graduate Division has now been formed. Professors Rachel Segalman, Chemical Engineering, and Robin Nabi, Communication, have graciously agreed to serve as co-chairs of this committee. I thank each of our committee members listed below and the co-chairs of the committee in advance for their commitment to help our campus community with this important task. I also thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean of Graduate Division

Rachel Segalman, Co-Chair; Professor, Chemical Engineering
Robin Nabi, Co-Chair; Professor, Communication
Chris Costello, Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
Sabine Frühstück, Professor, East Asian Languages & Cultural Studies
Patricia Fumerton, Professor, English
Melanie Hoven, Staff representative; Associate Director, Academic Labor Policy, Processes, and Projects
Joe Incandela, Vice Chancellor for Research
David Lea, Professor, Earth Science
Beth Pruitt, Professor, Mechanical Engineering; Chair, Biological Engineering
Chela Sandoval, Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Mark Sherwin, Professor, Physics
Sharon Tettegah, Director, Center for Black Studies Research; Professor, Black Studies
Annjulie Vester, Co-President, Graduate Student Association
Mian Wang, Professor and Chair, Department of Education, The Gevirtz School

Ex officio
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention