September 13, 2022

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

As our Fall quarter is about to begin, I write to announce the formation of the search advisory committee for our next Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education, which will begin their work next week at the start of the new academic year. We are grateful that Professor Mike Miller has graciously agreed to continue to serve as Interim Dean as we search for our next dean.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate Chair, Executive Vice Chancellor, faculty and administrative colleagues, and other members of our campus community, I am pleased to announce the search advisory committee for our next Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education. I am grateful that Professor Omer Blaes has agreed to serve as chair of the committee. I am also grateful to our committee members listed below for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to help our campus with this important task.


Henry T. Yang

Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education Search Advisory Committee

Omer Blaes, Chair; Professor, Physics
Glenn Beltz, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering; Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Daniel Conroy-Beam, Associate Professor, Psychological & Brain Sciences
Leroy Laverman, Lecturer with Security of Employment, College of Creative Studies and Chemistry & Biochemistry; Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, College of Creative Studies
Andy Merolla, Associate Professor, Communication
Jeff Moehlis, Chair and Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Danielle Nagy, Staff representative; Student Affairs Manager, Humanities Administrative Support Center (HASC)
Sameer Pandya, Associate Professor, Asian American Studies
Lisa Przekop, Director of Admissions
Erika Rappaport, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, History
Laura Romo, Professor, Education
Brandon Whited, Associate Professor, Theater and Dance
TBD, Associated Students representative

Ex Officio
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention