May 20, 2022

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

In my December 15, 2021, memo to campus, I announced that after nearly seven years of dedicated leadership and service to our campus, our Director of Intercollegiate Athletics John McCutcheon decided to retire. I would like to take this opportunity to again thank John for his extraordinary leadership and dedicated efforts he provided to our athletics department and for his inspirational mentorship of our student-athletes and coaches.

I also announced that Kelly Barsky, Deputy Athletics Director, graciously agreed to serve as our Interim Director of Athletics, effective January 1, 2022, while we conduct a search.

I am pleased to announce that a search advisory committee for our next Director of Intercollegiate Athletics has been formed, and that Gary Cunningham, former Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, and Gene Lucas, Executive Vice Chancellor Emeritus, have graciously agreed to serve as co-chairs of the committee. The roster of the committee is listed below.

I thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee. I am grateful to all our colleagues for their dedication to devote their valuable time and energy to the work of this committee in support of our campus and our athletics department.


Henry T. Yang

Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Search Advisory Committee

Gary Cunningham, Co-Chair, Former Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
Gene Lucas, Co-Chair, Executive Vice Chancellor Emeritus; UC Santa Barbara Alumni Association Board member
Katya Armistead, Staff representative; Assistant Vice Chancellor and Dean of Student Life
John Arnhold, UC Santa Barbara alumnus; Foundation Trustee
Pat Graham, Community member
Bonnie Henrickson, Head Coach, Women’s Basketball
Peter Jordano, Community member; Foundation Trustee
Min Kim, Associated Students representative
Michelle Ohwobete, Student-athlete representative; Women’s Volleyball
Lisa Przekop, Director of Admissions
Dr. Richard Ryu, Team Physician; Foundation Trustee
Jenni Sorkin, Associate Professor, History of Art & Architecture
Annjulie Vester, Graduate Student Association representative; PhD candidate, Political Science
Mike Wilton, Assistant Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Ex officio
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Equal Opportunity & Discrimination Prevention Office