August 11, 2021

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

After five years of dedicated service, our Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Matt Hall, accepted the position as Vice President and Chief Information Officer at the University of Central Florida earlier this year. We appreciate Matt’s many valuable contributions to our campus community. We are grateful that Shea Lovan, Director of Cloud and Identity Services in Enterprise Technology Services (ETS), has agreed to serve as Interim Chief Information Officer.

Following consultation with EVC David Marshall, our Academic Senate and chair, administrative colleagues, staff, and students, I am pleased to announce that we have now formed a search advisory committee for our next Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, who will continue to lead our Enterprise Technology Services.

Executive Dean Pierre Wiltzius has graciously agreed to serve as the chair of our search advisory committee. The members of the committee are listed below. We appreciate their willingness to devote their valuable time, energy, and wisdom to help our campus conduct a search for this important position.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Pierre Wiltzius
, Chair; Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Science; Professor, Physics
Kristin Antelman, University Librarian
Paul Atzberger, Professor, Mathematics
Kerry Bierman, Associate Vice Chancellor, Budget & Planning
Jim Caesar, Staff representative; Campus Emergency Manager
Chengyu Fang, Graduate Student Association representative; PhD candidate, Communication
Joe Incandela, Vice Chancellor, Research; Professor, Physics
Brianna Li, Associated Students representative
Alan Liu, Distinguished Professor, English
Mike Miller, Associate Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Services
Alex Parraga, Chief Digital Officer, Office of Public Affairs and Communications
Lisa Romero, Interim Director, Human Resources
Andy Satomi, Director, Academic Affairs Information Technology; Director, Space Planning & Management, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
Tim Sherwood, Professor, Computer Science
Joe Walther, Mark and Susan Bertelsen Presidential Chair in Technology and Society; Director, Center for Information Technology & Society; Distinguished Professor, Communication
France Winddance Twine, Professor, Sociology

Ex Officio
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Equal Opportunity & Discrimination Prevention Office