February 17, 2021

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

I write to share with you the formation of the search advisory committee for our next Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts. John Majewski was appointed as our Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts in 2014, and has decided not to return to the deanship after his sabbatical. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Dean Majewski for his leadership and many contributions to our campus community. We are grateful that Professor Mary Hancock has graciously agreed to serve as Acting Dean while Dean Majewski is on sabbatical leave and during our search for our next dean.

Following consultation with EVC Marshall, the Academic Senate and Chair, administrative colleagues, and other members of our campus community, I am pleased to announce the search advisory committee for our next Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts. Professor Lisa Parks has graciously agreed to serve as chair of this committee. I am grateful to our committee members listed below and the chair of the committee in advance for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to help our campus with this important task.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts
Lisa Parks, Chair
; Distinguished Professor, Film and Media Studies
Ahmad Ahmad, Professor Religious Studies
Risa Brainin, Professor, Theater and Dance
Leo Cabranes-Grant, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Anne Charity Hudley, Professor, Linguistics
Elizabeth Digeser, Professor, History
Colin Gardner, Professor, Art
Barbara Herr Harthorn, Professor, Anthropology
Yunte Huang, Professor, English
Elinor Mason, Professor, Philosophy
Mark Meadow, Professor, History of Art & Architecture
Erin Nerstad, Staff representative; Associate Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities Center
Catherine Nesci, Professor, French and Italian
Madeleine Sorapure, Director, Writing Program
Jordan J. Tudisco, Graduate Student Association representative; PhD candidate, Comparative Literature
TBD, Associated Students representative

Ex Officio
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention