January 6, 2021

Dear Members of Our Campus Community,

As I announced in my memo of March 12, 2020, Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean Carol Genetti accepted the position of Vice Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Programs at New York University Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates, beginning September 1, 2020, after eight years of exceptional and dedicated leadership of our Graduate Division. Professor Leila Rupp graciously agreed to serve as Interim Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean while we conduct a search for our next Dean.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate and Chair, our administrative colleagues and EVC, our Graduate Student Association, and our Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Council and Staff Assembly, I am pleased to announce that the search advisory committee for our next Dean of our Graduate Division has now been formed. Professor Kathy Foltz has graciously agreed to serve as chair of this committee.  I thank each of our committee members listed below and the chair of the committee in advance for their commitment to help our campus community with this important task. I also thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean of Graduate Division

Kathy Foltz, Chair; Professor, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Amit Ahuja, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Political Science
Felice Blake, Associate Professor, English
Cherie Briggs, Professor, Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology
Shane Jimerson, Professor, Counseling, Clinical & School Psychology
Arturo Keller, Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
Alex LeBrun, Co-President, Graduate Student Association
Beth Pruitt, Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Karen van Gool, Staff representative; Graduate Advisor, Computer Science
Ex officio:
Ricardo Alcaíno
, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention