July 30, 2019

Dear Members of our Campus Community,

I write to announce the formation of a search advisory committee for the position of Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. 

Following consultation with our Academic Senate, academic deans, administrative colleagues, Associated Students, Graduate Student Association, staff organizations and input from student organizations and other campus colleagues, I am pleased to announce the membership, which is listed below. We extend our sincere thanks to Victor Rios, Professor, Sociology, and Ingrid Banks, Associate Professor, Black Studies, for agreeing to serve as co-chairs of this committee. 

In order to be most inclusive of campus community, we propose that the search committee develop an open and thorough interview process to include meetings and interactions with a broad representation of our community during the candidate visits to campus. In addition, we will organize meetings with a variety of campus groups and organizations, which represent our diverse population of students, faculty and staff. This comprehensive process will serve to provide our campus community with the opportunity to fulfill and enhance our mission by promoting a culture of an inclusive learning, living and working environment of excellence and diversity.

I would like to express my appreciation in advance to all of our search advisory committee members for their willingness to devote their time, energy and wisdom to help us fill this critical campus position. I would also like to thank our entire campus community for your contributions and participation in this important search.  


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Victor Rios, Co-Chair; Professor, Sociology
Ingrid Banks, Co-Chair; Associate Professor, Black Studies

Amit Ahuja, Associate Professor, Political Science
Sarah Anderson, Associate Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Renée Bahl, Associate Vice Chancellor, Design, Facilities & Safety Services
Omer Blaes, Professor, Physics
Nathaniel Burke, Staff representative; Coordinator, Student Affairs Equity & Inclusion
Alesha Claveria, Graduate Student Association representative
Richard Duran, Professor, Education
Jordan Fobbs, Associated Students representative
Leslie Hogan, Senior Lecturer, Music Composition, College of Creative Studies
Margaret Klawunn, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
Jeffrey Milem, Dean, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Beth Pruitt, Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Vickie Scott, Senior Lecturer, Theater and Dance; Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Diversity and Equity 
Inés Talamantez, Professor, Religious Studies
Sharon Tettegah, Professor, Black Studies; Director, Center for Black Studies Research

Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention