Search Advisory Committee for Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services

September 13, 2017

Dear Members of our Campus Community,

In my campus memo of August 24, 2017, I announced that Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services Marc Fisher has accepted a position as Vice Chancellor for Administration at UC Berkeley, beginning September 18, 2017. I would like to take this opportunity to once again thank Marc for the 15 wonderful years he and his wife, Kris, shared with us, and for his leadership and many contributions to our campus community. I also announced that former Interim Executive Vice Chancellor Joel Michaelsen has graciously agreed to serve as our Interim Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate and other campus colleagues, I am pleased to announce the formation of a search advisory committee for our next Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services. The committee membership is listed below. We extend our sincere thanks to Dean Pierre Wiltzius for agreeing to chair this committee. We also thank all of the committee members for their commitment of time, wisdom, and expertise to help our campus with this important search.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services


Pierre Wiltzius, Chair; Executive Dean, College of Letters & Science; Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Science; Professor, Physics
Rod Alferness, Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean, College of Engineering
Henning Bohn, Chair, Academic Senate; Professor, Economics
Chuck Haines, Acting Assistant Chancellor, Financial & Resource Management
Matthew Hall, Associate Vice Chancellor, Information Technology; Chief Information Officer
Maria Herrera-Sobek, Associate Vice Chancellor, Diversity, Equity, and Academic Policy; Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Patricia Holden, Director, UC Natural Reserve System; Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Hieu Le, President, Associated Students
John Longbrake, Associate Vice Chancellor, Public Affairs and Communications
Gene Lucas, Executive Vice Chancellor, Emeritus
John Majewski, Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts; Professor, History
Leila Rupp, Interim Dean, Social Sciences; Professor, Feminist Studies
Bruce Tiffney, Co-Chair, Campus Sustainability Committee; Professor, Earth Science
Vilna Bashi Treitler, Professor and Chair, Black Studies
Staff representative, to be determined
Graduate Student Association representative, to be determined

Ex Officio:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention