September 1, 2016

Dear Members of our Campus Community:

I am pleased to announce that the search advisory committee for our next Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education has now been formed and that Professor Aaron Ettenberg has graciously agreed to serve as chair of this committee. Dr. Ettenberg, Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience and Behavior in our Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, has contributed to our academic community in many ways over the past 34 years, including serving as Assistant Dean and Acting Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Department Chair, and Acting Provost of the College of Letters & Science.

I thank all of those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee. I also thank Professor Ettenberg and each of our committee members in advance for their individual commitments to help our campus community with this important task.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education

Aaron Ettenberg, Chair; Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
Gerardo Aldana, Professor and Chair, Chicana/o Studies
Glenn Beltz, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering; Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Omer Blaes, Professor, Physics Henning Bohn, Chair, Academic Senate; Professor, Economics
Michael Brown, Dean, University Extension; Professor, Education
Niki Elyasi, Associated Students Representative
Kathy Foltz, Interim Dean, College of Creative Studies; Associate Professor, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Alan Liu, Professor, English Stephan Miescher, Chair, Undergraduate Council of Academic Senate; Associate Professor, History
Lisa Przekop, Director of Admissions
Megan Valentine, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Staff representative, to be determined
Graduate Students Association representative, to be determined

Ex Officio:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Prevention