October 30, 2015

Dear Members of our Campus Community:

In follow-up to my memo of July 7, I am writing to update you on the formation of the search advisory committee for our campus’s next Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs and Communications. Dr. Rod Alferness, Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean of the College of Engineering, has graciously agreed to chair this committee. The committee membership is listed below.

I thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee. I also thank each of our committee members for their willingness to contribute their time, wisdom, and expertise to help our campus with this vital task.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs and Communications

Rod Alferness, Chair; Richard A. Auhll Professor; Dean, College of Engineering
Michael Brown, Dean, University Extension; Professor, Counseling, Clinical & School Psychology
Mathew Burciaga, Associated Students representative; Editor, The Bottom Line
Marcy Carsey, UC Santa Barbara Foundation Board of Trustees
Beverly Colgate, Associate Vice Chancellor, Development
Steven Gaines, Dean, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Maria Herrera-Sobek, Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Academic Policy; Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Sally MacIntyre, Professor, Marine Science Institute and Ecology, Evolution & Marine Biology
John Majewski, Interim Dean, Humanities and Fine Arts
Meredith Murr, Director, Research Development
Karen Myers, Associate Professor, Communication
Emile Nelson, Associated Students representative; Editor-in-Chief, Daily Nexus
Melvin Oliver, Executive Dean, College of Letters & Science; SAGE Sara Miller McCune Dean of Social Sciences
Lisa Przekop, Director, Admissions
Ambuj Singh, Professor, Computer Science
George Thurlow, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Alumni Affairs
Marie Williams, UC Santa Barbara Foundation Board of Trustees
Pierre Wiltzius, Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Sciences; Professor, Physics
Kim Yasuda, Professor, Art
Graduate Students Association representative – to be determined

Ex officio:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Sexual Harassment/Title IX