September 1, 2015

Dear Members of our Campus Community,

It is my great pleasure to join with Executive Vice Chancellor David Marshall in announcing the appointment of Mr. Matthew Hall as Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, effective September 22, 2015.

Matthew Hall has extensive and varied experience in Information Technology both in and out of academia. He previously served for over seven years as Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Chief Information Architect at Vanderbilt University. Working closely with faculty, staff, students, and alumni, he developed Vanderbilt’s enterprise network computing and technical architecture framework, while overseeing Network Computing operations and identity, security, architecture, data center, telephony, and collaboration platforms for the campus. While at Vanderbilt, Mr. Hall also taught courses in the Computer Science Department and the English Department.

In addition to his university experience, he was Assistant Director and CIO for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, where he oversaw information systems and technology platforms, as well as security and infrastructure operations. Earlier in his career, he was Senior Vice President, Business Technology Executive, for the Bank of America Global Corporate Investment Bank. Mr. Hall is currently an Account Executive with the Microsoft Corporation, where he oversees a portfolio that includes Fortune 500 Media and Entertainment, Manufacturing, and Healthcare.

Matt Hall received a B.A. in International Studies and Cultural Anthropology from the University of South Florida and an M.A. in International Affairs from Florida State University. He also has a Certificate of Professional Development from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania and a Graduate Teaching Certificate from the Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching. His record of professional activity includes serving on the Google College Advisory Board, the AT&T Higher Education Advisory Board, the Sprint Academic Advisory Board, and the Microsoft Unified Communication Advisory Council.

We would like to thank Dean Pierre Wiltzius, Chair of the Search Advisory Committee, and each of the committee members, who are listed below, for their outstanding work on this rigorous national search. We are also grateful to the many colleagues, including faculty, staff, and students, who participated in the search process.

Our campus owes a special debt of gratitude to Denise Stephens for serving as Acting CIO since October of 2013, in addition to her many responsibilities as University Librarian. She has worked energetically and conscientiously to launch the Enterprise Technology Services unit, oversee the modernization of our campus financial and timekeeping systems, prepare for the system-wide deployment of the new UC Path payroll system, and begin collaborations with major IT units on campus to deliver IT services to the campus. We thank Denise for her dedication and leadership during a challenging transitional period for the campus.

We look forward to welcoming Matt Hall to campus as our new Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Pierre Wiltzius, Chair; Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Science and Professor of Physics
Rod Alferness, Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean of Engineering
Leesa Beck, Staff Representative; University Registrar
Cherie Briggs, Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Nick Brown, Associated Students Representative; ASUCSB Chief Technology Officer
Richard Duran, Professor, Education
James Frew, Associate Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Carol Genetti, Dean of Graduate Division and Professor of Linguistics
Chuck Haines, Director of Capital Development, Office of Budget & Planning
Richard Kip, Assistant Dean for Academic Technology, College of Letters & Science
Pam Lombardo, Acting Associate Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services
John Longbrake, Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs and Communications
Peter Rupert, Professor and Chair, Economics
Rachel Spratt, Graduate Students Association Representative; Department of Earth Science
Mia White, Assistant Professor, Black Studies

Ex Officio:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance
Elise Meyer, Director of Business Operations and Planning, Enterprise Technology Services