April 21, 2015

Dear Members of our Campus Community,

As you know, our former Dean of Undergraduate Education, Mary Nisbet, retired in July 2014, after six distinguished years as Dean and 23 years on our campus. We are grateful to Carl GutiƩrrez-Jones for serving as our interim Dean since then. Following consultation with the Academic Senate, Deans, and other campus colleagues, we have combined the position of Dean of Undergraduate Education in the College of Letters and Science with a new position of Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education. In addition to overseeing the L&S Division of Undergraduate Education, the AVC/Dean will lead a University-wide Office of Undergraduate Education, which will include the Education Abroad Program, Instructional Development, and Summer Sessions. Reporting to the EVC, the AVC/Dean will be a campus-wide advocate for undergraduate education, promoting the highest quality of teaching and learning, and supervising a wide array of programs directed at enhancing the undergraduate experience.

Following additional consultation with the Senate, as well as other members of our campus community, EVC David Marshall and I are pleased to announce that we have now formed a search advisory committee to conduct a search for our next Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education.

Omer Blaes, Professor of Physics and Vice Chair of the Academic Senate, has graciously agreed to serve as the chair of our search advisory committee. The members of the committee are listed below. We appreciate their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to help our campus conduct a search for this important position.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Education

Omer Blaes, Chair; Professor, Physics; Vice Chair, Academic Senate
Glenn Beltz, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering; Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Henning Bohn, Professor, Economics
Michael Brown, Dean, University Extension; Professor, Education
Paige Digeser, Professor, Political Science
Niki Elyasi, Associated Students Representative
Dominique Jullien, Professor, French and Italian
Laura Kalman, Professor, History
Chandra Krintz, Professor, Computer Science
David Lea, Professor, Earth Science
Jane Mulfinger, Professor, Art
Samantha Rae Powers, Graduate Students Association Representative; Department of Communication
Lisa Przekop, Director of Admissions
Denise Segura, Professor, Chicana/o Studies
Bruce Tiffney, Dean, College of Creative Studies

Ex Officio:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance