November 19, 2014

Dear Members of our Campus Community,

As I announced in my campus memo of July 31, Dr. David Marshall, our Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts, was appointed as our Executive Vice Chancellor, effective September 15. After wide consultation, Professor John Majewski was appointed Interim Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts, as I announced in my campus memo of September 8.

Following consultation with EVC Marshall, the Academic Senate, administrative colleagues, and other members of our campus community, I am pleased to announce the formation of the search advisory committee for our next Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts. Professor Susan Derwin has graciously agreed to chair this important committee. The committee membership is listed below.

I am grateful to all of our search advisory committee members for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to help our campus with this search.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts

Susan Derwin
, Chair; Professor, Department of Germanic, Slavic, and Semitic Studies; Director,
Interdisciplinary Humanities Center

Risa Brainin, Professor and Chair, Department of Theater and Dance
Cynthia Brown, Professor, Department of French and Italian
José Cabezón, Professor, Department of Religious Studies
Jill Felber, Professor and Chair, Department of Music
Carol Genetti, Dean, Graduate Division; Professor, Department of Linguistics
Dick Hebdige, Professor, Department of Film and Media Studies and Department of Art
Carol Lansing, Professor, Department of History
George Lipsitz, Professor, Department of Black Studies and Department of Sociology
Alan Liu, Professor, Department of English
Francisco Lomeli, Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese and Department of
Chicana/o Studies
Cassie Mancini, Associated Students Off-Campus Senator
Bob Ortega, Staff Representative; Director, HSSB-Humanities Administrative Support Center
Lisa Parks, Professor, Department of Film and Media Studies; Director, Center for Information
Technology and Society
Evelyn Patrick Rick, Graduate Students Association Representative
Bruce Robertson, Professor, Department of the History of Art and Architecture; Acting Director,
Art, Design, and Architecture Museum

Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual
Harassment/Title IX Compliance