August 6, 2013


Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the formation of a search advisory committee for our next Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services.

Our former Vice Chancellor, Donna Carpenter, retired in October of 2008. Due to the uncertain and difficult budget situation at that time, we suspended the search for her replacement soon after her retirement. Following consultation with our Academic Senate and campus colleagues, we would now like to begin the search anew.

Dean Pierre Wiltzius has graciously agreed to serve as the chair, and the members are listed below. I am grateful to all of our search advisory committee members for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to help our campus with this important search. I also would like to thank EVC Gene Lucas, Academic Senate Chair Kum-Kum Bhavnani, the Senate Committee on Committees, and many colleagues for their advice to help form this committee.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for the Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services
Pierre Wiltzius, Chair; Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Science; Professor, Physics
Rod Alferness, Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean, College of Engineering
Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Chair, Academic Senate; Professor, Sociology
Donna Coyne, Staff representative, nominated by Chancellor'’s Staff Advisory Council and Staff Assembly; Associate Director, Admissions; 2013-2015 Staff Advisor-designate to the UC Regents
Mario Galicia, Graduate Students Association representative; past GSA President
Chuck Haines, Director, Capital Development
Maria Herrera-Sobek, Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Academic Policy; Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Patricia Holden, Director, UCSB Natural Reserve System; Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
David Marshall, Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts; Professor, English
Joel Michaelsen, Professor, Geography
Melvin Oliver, Executive Dean of the College of Letters and Science; SAGE Sara Miller McCune Dean of Social Sciences; Professor, Sociology
Marvin Ramirez, Associated Students representative
Denise Stephens, University Librarian
Bruce Tiffney, Dean, College of Creative Studies; Professor, Earth Science
Richard Watts, Professor Emeritus, Chemistry & Biochemistry; Faculty Advisor to the Chancellor

Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance