July 8, 2013


Dear Colleagues:

As I announced to our campus on June 3, after 11 years of outstanding leadership as our Executive Vice Chancellor, and a highly distinguished career at UC Santa Barbara spanning nearly four decades, EVC Gene Lucas has decided to retire on December 31, 2013.

Following consultation with our Academic Senate, administrative colleagues, and other members of our campus community, I am pleased to announce the formation of a search advisory committee for our next Executive Vice Chancellor. Professor Joel Michaelsen has graciously agreed to chair this important committee, and the members are listed below.

I would like to express my appreciation in advance to all of our search advisory committee members for their willingness to devote their time, energy, and wisdom to help us fill this critical campus position.


Henry T. Yang


Search Advisory Committee for Executive Vice Chancellor

Joel Michaelsen, Chair; Professor, Geography; past Academic Senate Chair
Jonathan Abboud, Associated Students representative; A.S. President
Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Chair, Academic Senate; Professor, Sociology
Lars Bildsten, Rosing and Raab Professor in Theoretical Astrophysics; Director, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
Henning Bohn, Professor, Economics; past Academic Senate Chair
David Bothman, Staff representative, nominated by Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Council and Staff Assembly; Principal Development Engineer
Frank Davis, Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management and Geography; Director, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis
Frank Doyle, Mellichamp Professor in Process Control; Director, Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies; Associate Dean of Research, College of Engineering
Anna Everett, Professor, Film and Media Studies
Mario Galicia, Graduate Students Association representative; past GSA President
Carl Gutierrez-Jones, Professor, English; past Director, Chicano Studies Institute
Gale Morrison, Professor Emeritus, Education; Acting Dean, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Jane Mulfinger, Professor, College of Creative Studies; Professor and Chair, Art
Tresa Pollock, ALCOA Professor and Chair, Materials

Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance