June 18, 2012


Dear Colleagues:

As I announced to our campus on March 29, after twelve years of distinguished leadership of our Admissions Office, and nearly thirty-eight years of dedicated service to the University of California, Director of Admissions Christine Van Gieson has expressed her wish to retire.

In consultation with our Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Executive Vice Chancellor, Academic Senate, administrative colleagues, and other members of our campus community, I am pleased to announce the formation of a search committee for our next Director of Admissions. Dr. Mary Nisbet, Dean of Undergraduate Education, and Dr. John Park, Incoming Chair of the Academic Senate Committee on Admissions, Enrollment & Relations with Schools (CAERS), have graciously agreed to co-chair this important committee. Members of our search advisory committee are listed below. We sincerely appreciate the commitment of Dr. Nisbet and Dr. Park and our search committee members to devote their time, energy, and wisdom to help us find the right person to fill this important campus position.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Director of Admissions

Mary Nisbet, Co-Chair; Dean of Undergraduate Education, College of Letters and Science; Senior Lecturer, Economics
John S.W. Park, Co-Chair; Incoming Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Admissions, Enrollment and Relations with Schools (CAERS); Associate Professor, Asian American Studies  

Sophia Armen, President, Associated Students
Glenn Beltz, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering; Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Rolf Christoffersen, Associate Professor, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Anna Everett, Professor, Film and Media Studies
Lupe Garcia, Assistant Dean, Student Academic Support Services; Director, Educational Opportunity Program
Janis Ingham, Professor, Speech and Hearing Sciences; NCAA Faculty Academic Representative
Mary Jacob, Senior Associate Dean, Student Academic Support Services; Director, Office of International Students and Scholars
Gabriela Soto Laveaga, Associate Professor, History
Bruce Tiffney, Dean, College of Creative Studies; Professor, Earth Science
Petra Van Koppen, Senior Lecturer, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Graduate Students Association representative (TBA)

Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director and Title IX Officer, Office of Equal Opportunity & Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance