October 12, 2011


Dear Colleagues:
I am pleased to announce the appointment of Tricia Hiemstra as our next Director of Human Resources, effective October 10, 2011.
Tricia holds an M.B.A. in Executive Management and a B.S. in Psychology. She began her career in Human Resources 30 years ago, working primarily in institutions of higher education. She joined UC Santa Barbara in 1984, first in our Affirmative Action Office, and then moving over to our Human Resources Department as a Benefits Assistant in 1986. Tricia held progressively more responsible positions within the Benefits Unit, and in 1995 she became the manager of the unit. In 2008 Tricia also became the manager for the Compensation Unit, and in 2010 she began serving as our Interim Human Resources Director.  

Tricia has provided dedicated service to our university community in multiple ways. In 2007 she was elected to serve on the University of California Retirement System Advisory Board, and she was selected to chair this board from 2008 to 2010. Tricia has also served as vice chair for our UCSB Advisory Committee on the Status of Women.

I would like to thank Sue Hawkins, chair of our search advisory committee, and each of our committee members (listed below) for their excellent work on this rigorous search. I would also like to thank Associate Vice Chancellor Ron Cortez and all of our colleagues who participated in the search process and provided input and advice.
Tricia has done an outstanding job as our Interim Director of Human Resources. We are deeply grateful for her dedication to our campus, and we look forward to her continuing valuable contributions as Director. Please join me in extending our heartfelt thanks and congratulations to Tricia. 

Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for the Director of Human Resources

Sue Hawkins, Chair, Director, UCen Dining Services
Judith Akiyoshi, Administrative Services Director, Student Health
Michael Brown, Dean, Extending Learning Services
Keith Clarke, Professor, Geography
Carol Houchens, Director, Academic Administration, Office of Executive Vice Chancellor
James Mattinson, Professor Emeritus, Earth Science
Gale Morrison, Dean, Graduation Division
Joyce Wolever, Personnel & Payroll Manager, Marine Science Institute
Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Office of Equal Opportunity
Staff Support to the Committee:
Christine Griffin, Deputy ADA Compliance Officer & Special Projects Analyst, Administrative Services