June 28, 2011


Dear Colleagues:
On June 8, I wrote to you regarding the retirement of Gary Greinke as our Associate Vice Chancellor for Development. We are grateful for his ten years of exceptional leadership and service to our campus community.
I am pleased to announce that the search advisory committee for our next Associate Vice Chancellor for Development has been formed, and will be chaired by David Marshall, Executive Dean of our College of Letters & Science and Dean of Humanities & Fine Arts. The committee membership is listed below.
I thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee. We sincerely appreciate the commitment of Dean Marshall and our search committee members to devote their time, energy, and wisdom to help us find the right person to fill this important campus position.
I am also pleased to announce that Beverly Colgate has graciously agreed to serve as our Acting Associate Vice Chancellor for Development. Beverly has more than 25 years of experience in Development, including 20 years here at UC Santa Barbara. She has been involved with both fund raising and management, serving most recently as our Senior Director of Development, responsible for Development and Advancement Services. I would like to thank Beverly and all of our Development colleagues for their willingness to assist our campus during this critical interim period while we conduct our search.
Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Associate Vice Chancellor for Development
David Marshall, Chair, Executive Dean, College of Letters & Science and Dean, Humanities & Fine Arts
Ann Bermingham, Professor, History of Art & Architecture
Celesta Billeci, Executive Director, Arts & Lectures
Ed Birch, Chair, Committee on Donor Relations and Stewardship, UC Santa Barbara Foundation Board of Trustees
Henning Bohn, Chair, Academic Senate and Professor, Economics
Beverly Colgate, Acting Associate Vice Chancellor, Development
Jane Conoley, Dean, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Michael Doherty, Professor, Chemical Engineering
Mark French, Alumni Association Board member and former Head Coach, Women's Basketball
Arturo Keller, Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
Meredith Murr, Director, Research Development, Office of Research
Melvin Oliver, Dean, Social Sciences, College of Letters & Science
Bruce Tiffney, Dean, College of Creative Studies
Bruce Wilcox, Chair, UC Santa Barbara Foundation Board of Trustees
Pierre Wiltzius, Dean, Mathematical, Life and Physical Sciences, College of Letters & Science
Associated Students representative – to be determined
Graduate Students Association representative – to be determined
Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo Alcaíno, Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance