Search Advisory Committee for the University Librarian

February 5, 2010

Dear Colleagues:
In his campus memo of November 18, 2009, EVC Gene Lucas announced that University Librarian Brenda Johnson has decided to accept a position as the Ruth Lilly Dean of University Libraries at Indiana University, beginning March 1. I would like to take this opportunity to join with EVC Lucas and all of our colleagues in thanking Brenda for her outstanding leadership of our Libraries and her many contributions to our campus community. I would also like to thank Sherry DeDecker and Lucia Snowhill for their willingness to serve as co-Acting University Librarians, beginning February 1.
Following consultation with the Academic Senate and other campus colleagues, EVC Lucas and I are pleased to announce the formation of the search advisory committee for our next University Librarian. The committee membership is listed below. We extend our sincere thanks to Dean Jane Conoley and Professor John Talbott for graciously agreeing to co-chair this committee. We also thank all of the committee members for their willingness to devote their valuable time and wisdom to this important search, for the benefit of our campus.
Henry T. Yang
Search Advisory Committee for the University Librarian

Jane Conoley, Co-Chair; Dean and Professor, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
John Talbott, Co-Chair; Professor, History
Gerardo Aldana, Associate Professor, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Timothy Benson, Associated Students Representative
Omer Blaes, Professor, Physics
James Blascovich, Professor, Psychology
Michael Brown, Acting Dean of Extended Learning Services; Professor, Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology
Mattanjah de Vries, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Jennifer Earl, Associate Professor, Sociology
Colter Frazier, Library Assistant, Davidson Library
James Frew, Associate Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management; Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Library, Information, and Instructional Resources
Frederic Gibou, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Jason Linn, Graduate Students Association Representative
Lorraine McDonnell, Professor, Political Science
Laurie Monahan, Associate Professor, History of Art and Architecture
Eunice Schroeder, Music Librarian
David Tambo, Head of Special Collections, Davidson Library
Ann Taves, Professor, Religious Studies
Bruce Tiffney, Dean, College of Creative Studies; Professor, Earth Science
Heather Zheng, Associate Professor, Computer Science
Consultant to the Committee:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Sexual Harassment/Title IX Compliance