Appointment of Bren School Dean Steven Gaines

October 2, 2009

Dear Colleagues:
I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Steven Gaines as our new dean of the Donald Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, effective January 1, 2010, pending approval by President Yudof and the Regents.
Professor Gaines has been a distinguished member of our Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology since 1994, and is the director of our Marine Science Institute. From 2002 to 2005, he provided exemplary service to our campus as acting vice chancellor for research. In 2007, Professor Gaines graciously agreed to serve as acting dean of the Division of Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences, a post he held until October 2008.  
Professor Gaines's research focuses on marine ecology and conservation, sustainable fisheries, the design of marine reserves, and the impact of climate change on ocean ecosystems. Under his leadership, ground will soon be broken for our campus's new Outreach Center for Teaching Ocean Science (OCTOS), which will house state-of-the-art interactive exhibits to help connect students, educators, community groups, and the public with innovative educational programs based on the latest ocean science research.
His numerous activities at the national and international levels include currently serving as a science adviser for the Joint Ocean Commission and as a principal investigator for PISCO (Partnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans), a long-term consortium studying marine ecosystems throughout the Pacific. From 2003 to 2006 he held a prestigious Pew Marine Conservation Fellowship. Most recently, Professor Gaines received the inaugural Marc J. Hershman Excellence in Mentoring Award from the Joint Ocean Commission Initiative, and the scientific journal Nature  recognized as its top research highlight for 2008 a paper he co-authored on an innovative fisheries management strategy called "catch shares" that can reverse fisheries collapse.
I would like to thank Professor Thomas Dunne, chair of our search advisory committee, and each of our committee members (listed below) for their dedicated and effective efforts. I also sincerely appreciate the advice and input of EVC Gene Lucas, our faculty and administrative colleagues, and the Bren School Advisory Board throughout this search and recruitment process. In addition, we are deeply grateful for Professor John Melack's leadership as acting dean; we have been fortunate to be able to draw again on Professor Melack's experience and expertise during this interim period.
We are excited about the future of our Bren School and look forward to its continued success under Professor Gaines's leadership. Please join me in welcoming him to the deanship.
Henry T. Yang
Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Donald Bren School of
Environmental Science and Management

Thomas Dunne, Chair; Professor of Geomorphology and Hydrology and Chair of Bren School Faculty Executive Committee
Richard Appelbaum, Professor of Sociology and Global and International Studies
Frederic Chong, Professor of Computer Science and Institute for Energy Efficiency
Catherine Gautier-Downes, Professor of Geography
Patricia Holden, Professor of Environmental Microbiology, Bren School
Gary Libecap, Professor of Corporate Environmental Management, Bren School
Mo Lovegreen, Staff Representative; Executive Officer, Department of Geography
Dominique Monie, Representative of Graduate Students Association
Violetta Muselli, Representative of Associated Students
Constance Penley, Professor and Co-Director of Carsey-Wolf Center for Film, Television and New Media
Sara Poot-Herrera, Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Richard Rogers, Former Chair of Bren School Advisory Board
Joshua Schimel, Professor and Chair, Environmental Studies
Jeffrey Stewart, Professor and Chair of Black Studies
Matthew Tirrell, Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean of College of Engineering (through June 2009)
Robert Weber, Chair of Bren School Advisory Board
Ex officio:
Ricardo AlcaĆ­no, Director of Office of Equal Opportunity
John Flynn, Member of Bren School Advisory Board