Dean of the Graduate Division Gale Morrison

August 3, 2007


Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce that Professor Gale Morrison has graciously agreed to serve as the dean of our Graduate Division, effective July 1, 2007.

I would like to thank Professor Steve Gaines, chair of our search advisory committee, and each of our committee members (listed below) for contributing their time, energy, and wisdom to this important search. I would also like to thank EVC Gene Lucas and our many faculty and administrative colleagues who participated in the search and consultation process.

Dr. Morrison is a highly respected researcher, teacher, and graduate student mentor in the Counseling/Clinical/School Psychology Program of our Gevirtz Graduate School of Education. She is also affiliated with our Center for School-Based Youth Development. Her research and teaching areas involve exploring risk and resilience in children with learning and behavioral problems.

Professor Morrison has done a superb job as the acting dean of our Graduate Division for the past two years. She has also contributed to our university in numerous other ways over the years, including as acting dean of the Gevirtz Graduate School of Education, chair of the UCSB Academic Senate Graduate Council, and member of the UC Academic Senate Coordinating Committee on Graduate Affairs. This past year she chaired a committee of faculty and senior administrators to coordinate our campus response to the National Research Council for its assessment of graduate doctoral programs.

With her tremendous breadth of experience, her deep understanding of complex graduate education issues, and her sincere commitment to UCSB’s graduate students, Gale is an outstanding choice to lead our Graduate Division. Please join me in extending our warmest congratulations and thanks to Dean Morrison.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean, Graduate Division
Steven Gaines, Chair (Professor, Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology; Acting Dean, Division of Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences)
Joseph Bishop (Graduate Students Association Representative)
Carl Gutierrez-Jones (Professor, English; Director, Center for Chicano Studies)
Laura Haston (Assistant Dean, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management; Staff Representative)
George Homsy (Professor and Chair, Mechanical Engineering)
Claudine Michel (Professor and Chair, Black Studies; Director, Center for Black Studies Research)
Harvey Sharrer (Professor, Spanish & Portuguese)
Nicola Spaldin (Professor, Materials)
Galen Stucky (Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry and Materials)
John Sutton (Professor, Sociology)
Janet Walker (Professor, Film and Media Studies)

Consultants to the Committee
Joseph Castro (former Executive Director, Office of Academic Preparation and Equal Opportunity)
Patricia Sheppard (Director, Academic Personnel)