March 16, 2006


Dear Colleagues:

I am very pleased to join with Executive Vice Chancellor Gene Lucas in announcing that Professor Arthur Gossard has graciously agreed to serve as our next associate vice chancellor for academic personnel, effective April 1, 2006. This appointment will be for a one-year initial term, pending approval by the UC president.

Professor Gossard brings valuable expertise to his new role. As you may recall, he served as the acting associate vice chancellor for academic personnel in the summer of 2002, with outstanding performance. Before this appointment he was a member of the Committee on Academic Personnel from 1997 to 2001, and a member of the Streamlining Committee for Academic Personnel in 2001. I am confident that he will do an excellent job of overseeing the broad range of academic personnel issues involved in supporting UCSB's distinguished faculty and our academic mission. I greatly appreciate the advice and input of our many colleagues who helped bring this search to its successful conclusion. I extend special thanks to our co-chairs, Diane Mackie and Bob McMeeking, and all of the dedicated members of our search advisory committee (listed below).

Dr. Gossard's contributions to our campus are long-standing and multi-faceted. He joined the faculty of our Department of Materials and Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1987. His stature in these fields has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize, the James C. McGroddy Prize in New Materials, and the TMS John Bardeen Award. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, and a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Please join us in welcoming Professor Gossard as our next associate vice chancellor for academic personnel, and in thanking him for his willingness to serve our campus in this important way.

Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Personnel
Diane Mackie, Co-Chair, Professor, Psychology
Robert McMeeking, Co-Chair, Professor, Mechanical and Environmental Engineering
Janet Walker, Professor, Film Studies
Denise Segura, Professor, Sociology
Les Wilson, Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Claudine Michel, Professor, Black Studies
Tsuyoshi Hasegawa, Professor, History
Wade Clark Roof, Professor, Religious Studies

Consultant to the Committee
Joe Castro, Executive Director, Office of Academic Preparation and Equal Opportunity