February 3, 2006


Dear Colleagues:

It is with great pleasure that EVC Gene Lucas and I announce that Professor Bruce Tiffney has graciously agreed to serve as the Dean of our College of Creative Studies, effective immediately.

This appointment is made following the recommendation of the search advisory committee, and in consultation with campus colleagues. We extend our sincere thanks to Professor Aaron Ettenberg, chair of the search committee, and to all of our dedicated committee members listed below.

Professor Tiffney has been serving as our acting dean of the College of Creative Studies since July 2005. He joined our Geological Sciences faculty in 1986, and has been a member of our College of Creative Studies with an emphasis in Biology for ten years. He has served our campus with distinction, including a six-year term as chair of the CCS Executive Committee as well as participation on numerous Academic Senate and Systemwide committees.

Professor Tiffney is an internationally acknowledged expert on the evolution of terrestrial plants. He has received numerous honors for his achievements in research and teaching, including election as Fellow of the Geological Society of America, and a UCSB Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award.

Our campus is very proud of the unique educational experience offered by our College of Creative Studies. We are confident that the College will continue to flourish and achieve new heights of excellence under Professor Tiffney’s leadership. Please join EVC Lucas and me in welcoming Professor Tiffney as our new CCS Dean.

Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for the College of Creative Studies Dean

Aaron Ettenberg, Chair, Professor, Psychology
Robyn Bell, Lecturer SOE, College of Creative Studies
Guy Mark Foster, Assistant Professor, English
Jay Freeman, Graduate Students Association Representative
Mary Furner, Professor, History
Gretchen Hofmann, Associate Professor, Ecology, Evolution & Marine Biology
Alexandra Huttinger, Associated Students Representative
Oscar Ibarra, Professor, Computer Science
Arturo Keller, Associate Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
JoAnn Kuchera-Morin, Professor, Media Arts & Technology Program; Music
Philip Lubin, Professor, Physics
Hank Pitcher, Senior Lecturer SOE, College of Creative Studies
Margie Weeks, Director, Academic Program Review, Office of Budget & Planning

Consultant to the Committee
Joe Castro, Executive Director, Office of Academic Preparation and Equal Opportunity