November 6, 2001


Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce that the search advisory committee for the Dean of Extended Learning has been formed and that Professor Teofilo Gonzalez (Computer Science) has kindly agreed to serve as chair of the committee. The roster of the committee is listed below.

I thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee. This process included the Academic Senate, Deans and Provosts, Associate Vice Chancellor Ron Tobin and Executive Vice Chancellor Ilene Nagel.  I am grateful to all our colleagues for their dedication to devote so much of their valuable time and energy to our campus.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for Dean of Extended Learning

Teofilo Gonzalez, Chair (Professor, Computer Science)
Bruce Bimber (Associate Professor, Political Science)
Marguerite Bouraad-Nash (Lecturer, Political Science)
Betsy Brenner (Associate Professor, Education)
Tim Kwang-Ting Cheng (Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Merith Cosden (Professor, Education)
Sandy Cummings (Graduate Advisor, Music)
Robert Erickson (Professor, English)
Brian Fagan (Professor, Anthropology)
Ruth Finkelstein (Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology)
Richard Mayer (Professor, Psychology)
Christopher McAuley (Assistant Professor, Black Studies)
Al Wyner (Dean, Undergraduate Studies)
Associated Students (TBA)
Graduate Student Association (TBA)
Academic Senate Committee on Affirmative Action (TBA)

Consultants to the Committee:
Ray Huerta (Coordinator, Affirmative Action Program)
Robert Lapiner, UCLA Dean of Extension