June 5, 2001

To The Campus Community

Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the results of the effort in the national search for the
Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services by our search committee and colleagues.  
Ms. Sandra A. Drabik, Vice President for Administrative Services and General Counsel at the University of Toledo, will be appointed the next Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services effective July 16, 2001, pending approval by President Atkinson and The Regents.
Ms. Drabik obtained her B.S., M.S., and J.D. at The Ohio State University. Prior to her current position, she served on the Governor’s Cabinet as the Director of the Ohio Department of Administrative Services and Chief Information Officer for the state of Ohio. She served in Governor Voinovich’s Cabinet from 1995 to 1999. She was recruited to her current position after Governor Voinovich was elected U. S. Senator. As Director of Administrative Services, she oversaw the department’s 1050 employees and an annual budget of $2 billion dollars.  She still serves as secretary/treasurer and as a commission member of the Ohio Building Authority.

Prior to her appointment as Director of the Department of Administrative Services, Ms. Drabik served as Assistant Director for four years. She previously served as Vice President of Grant Medical Center, Special Assistant for Legal Affairs at The Ohio State University Hospitals, University Contracts Officer for The Ohio State University, and Deputy Director and General Counsel for the Ohio Office of Budget and Management. She also served The Ohio State University as an adjunct instructor of Health Services Management and Policy and as a board member of The Ohio State University Managed Health Care Systems, Inc.

I would like to thank the dedicated and effective efforts of the Search Advisory Committee, chaired by Professor Aaron Ettenberg.  The membership of this committee is given on the reverse side of this page. Please join me in welcoming Sandra Drabik to UCSB where we look forward to her service and leadership.


Henry T. Yang

Search Advisory Committee for the Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services

Aaron Ettenberg, Chair (Acting Provost, College of Letters & Science and Professor,    Psychology)
Michael Arntz (Professor, Art Studio)
Sanjoy Banerjee (Professor, Chemical Engineering)
Larry Beutler (Professor, Education and Psychology)
Cindy Bowers (Director and Physician, Student Health Service)
Cindy Chadwick (Management Services Officer, Mathematics)
Jim Dalton (Vice President, Administrative Affairs, Graduate Students Association)
Jeff Dozier (Professor, Donald Bren School of Environmental Science and Management)
Sarah Fenstermaker (Professor, Sociology)
Selena Gonzales (Associated Students)
Elvin Hatch (Professor, Anthropology)
Todd Lee (Budget Director, Budget and Planning)
Ursula Mahlendorf (Professor Emerita, Germanic, Slavic and Semitic Studies)
Claudine Michel (Professor, Center for Black Studies)
Katherine Saltzman-Li (Associate Professor, East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies)
Chela Sandoval (Assistant Professor, Chicano Studies)
Richard Watts (Chair, Academic Senate and Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Margaret Weeks (Coordinator, Academic Program Review, Budget & Planning)

Consultant to the Committee:
Raymond Huerta (Coordinator, Affirmative Action Office)