Menu Menu
Office of the Chancellor
Menu Office of the Chancellor
Menu UCSB - Chancellor
Menu University of California Santa Barbara
Menu Menu
University of California Santa Barbara

Memos to Campus

Coordinating Committee on Budget Strategy - 2008

March 14, 2008


Dear Colleagues:

As you already know, the financial challenges now facing the State of California are very serious, and they will be with us for some time. The University of California, like other state agencies and institutions, has begun the process of developing plans to cope with diminished resources for the foreseeable future. It is important to again begin a process whereby our campus develops a strategy that is designed to protect the academic quality, as well as the student access, that we have strived so hard to achieve. Out of this process we must develop a set of principles and guidelines to face the challenge of budget reductions in the near term, and to accomplish fiscal stability in the long term.

To guide our campus through this process, I have reactivated the Coordinating Committee on Budget Strategy, which I first established in February of 2003. Gene Lucas, Executive Vice Chancellor, and Joel Michaelsen, Chair of the Academic Senate, have graciously agreed to continue to co-chair this committee. The committee membership is shown below. I thank all those who have been part of the consultation process in the formation of this committee, and I am grateful to all our colleagues for their dedication to devote so much of their valuable time and energy to our campus through their participation on this committee.

To generate an open and informative process, the committee will develop ways, as it has done during the past, to share information relevant to this budget process and provide opportunity for feedback. Your participation in this process is both important and valued, and your commitment to UC Santa Barbara is greatly appreciated.


Henry T. Yang

Coordinating Committee on Budget Strategy - 2008
Gene Lucas, Executive Vice Chancellor; Co-Chair
Joel Michaelsen, Chair, Academic Senate; Professor of Geography; Co-Chair
Omer Blaes, Professor of Physics
Henning Bohn, Professor of Economics
Stephanie Brower, President, Associated Students
Donna Carpenter, Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services
Jane Conoley, Professor and Dean, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Anna Everett, Professor and Chair, Film and Media Studies
Yolanda Garcia, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Student Academic Support Services
Laura Kalman, Professor of History
Todd Lee, Assistant Chancellor for Budget and Planning
Vickie Scott, Chair, Academic Senate Council on Faculty Issues and Awards; Lecturer SOE, Dramatic Art and Dance
Ben Shockey, President, Graduate Students Association
Cynthia Stohl, Professor of Communication
Joy Williams, Assistant Dean for Budget and Administration, College of Engineering
Bob York, Chair, Academic Senate Council on Planning and Budget; Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ex-Officio: Henry Yang